Revealed: Top Indian business leaders in Arab world

These expats, some of them self-made billionaires, recognised for their 'phenomenal success'



Published: May 09, 2018 17:22 Cleofe Maceda, Senior Web Reporter

business and executives honoured at a recent ceremony by Forbes Middle East. Image Credit: Supplied

Dubai: Over 100 Indian nationals, mainly businessmen and executives that are based in the UAE, have just been recognised for their "phenomenal success" in the Arab world.

These expatriates are among the top 100 business owners and 50 Indian executives that made it to the Forbes Middle East's Top Indian Leaders 2018 rankings.

At least three of these trailblazing individuals, who are now self-made billionaires in UAE with a combined net worth of more than \$12 billion, are leading the rankings, with retail magnate Yusuff Ali M.A., managing director of LuLu Group International, taking the crown as the top business owner.

As of March, the Indian tycoon is the third-richest self-made billionaire in UAE with a net worth of \$5 billion.

Also UAE-based businessmen B. R. Shetty, who holds a net fortune of \$3.6 billion, and Ravi Pillai, with a net worth of \$3.5 billion, are ranked second and third, respectively.

Popularly known as the man behind money transfer house UAE Exchange, Shetty is the founder and chairman of NMC Health and BRS Ventures, while Pillai is the founder and chairman of RP Group of Companies.

Leading the list of top executives in the Arab world is Sanjiv Kakkar, who works as an executive vice president (VP) at Unilever, taking care of the company's operations in the Middle East, North Africa, Turkey, Russia, Ukraine and Belarus.

Following closely behind are two other Indians occupying the top posts in big businesses: Kalyana Sivagnanam, president and regional VP at Nissan for the Middle East, Africa and Indian, and Adnan Chilwan, group CEO at Dubai Islamic Bank.

The top businessmen were selected based on a number of factors, including how much financial and employment impact they've created and how long their company has been in business.

For top executives, the nominees were ranked according to experience, job title or the importance of their role in the organisation, as well as company revenues and payroll size.

The successful expatriates were honoured by Forbes during a ceremony.

The Top 100 business leaders:

- 1. Yusuff Ali M.A.
- 2. B. R. Shetty
- 3. Ravi Pillai
- 4. Sunil Vaswani
- 5. Sunny Varkey
- 6. Shamsheer Vayalil
- 7. Joy Alukkas
- 8. Rizwan Sajan
- 9. Shaji Ul Mulk
- 10. Basheer Kunhiparambath
- 11. Thumbay Moideen
- 12. Gagan Goel
- 13. P.N.C. Menon
- 14. Roy C.J.
- 15. Azad Moopen
- 16. Shamlal Ahamed
- 17. Adeeb Ahamed
- 18. Paras Shahdadpuri
- 19. Ashok Bhawandas Awtani
- 20. Siddeek Ahmed
- 21. Tony Jashanmal
- 22. Sudhir Goyel
- 23. Ramesh Ramakrishnan
- 24. Yogesh Mehta

25. Firoz Merchant 26. Jayant Ganwani 27. Birbal Singh Dana 28. Anand Kapoor 29. Harish Tahiliani 30. Dhananjay M. Datar 31. Rajan Mathrani 32. Kamal Vachani 33. J.P. Kalwani 34. Pradeep Kumar Handa 35. Naresh Bhawnani 36. Bharat Bhatia 37. Hassan Darvesh 38. Kiran Asher 39. Faizal Kottikollan 40. Asgar S. Patel 41. Harshad Mehta 42. Jacky Panjabi 43. Korathe Mohammad 44. Zulekha Daud 45. Kabir Mulchandani 46. Vardaraj Shetty 47. Kamal Puri 48. Lalu Samuel 49. Shafi Ul Mulk 50. Sohan Roy 51. Sudhakar Tomar 52. Vasu Shroff 53. Ajay Bhatia 54. George V Nereparambil 55. Hitesh Mehta 56. Thomas K. V. 57. Thomas Alexander 58. G.B. Jethwani 59. Atul Ahuja 60. Ram Buxani 61. Surender Singh Kandhari 62. Abdulla Amirudin Ajmal 63. Eugene A. Mayne 64. Varghese Kurian 65. Ajay Hamlai 66. Haji Moosa E.P. 67.Vandana Luthra 68. Ramesh Hiranandani 69. Mahesh Shahdadpuri 70. Shailesh Dash 71. Khurshid Vakil 72. Samir Salya 73. Amit Dhamani 74. Ali Asgar Mir

- 75. Deepak Arora
- 76. Raju Menon
- 77. Praveen Kumar Shetty
- 78. Sugathan Janardhan
- 79. Khalid Maniar
- 80. Kesavan Muraleedharan
- 81. Nitish Jain
- 82. Poonam Bhojani
- 83. Sudhakar Rao
- 84. Mustafa Vazayil
- 85. Neelesh Bhatnagar
- 86. Manohar Lahori
- 87. Rafih FiLLi
- 88. Vito Gomes
- 89. Vivek Kallidil
- 90. Bharat Thakur
- 91. S.K. Wadhawan
- 92. Kulwant Singh Thiara
- 93. Ved Sharan Chhabra
- 94. Sundar Menon
- 95. Mohammad Tariq
- 96. Tejinder Singh
- 97. Sajith Ansar
- 98. Ganesh Iyer
- 99. Gaurav Tandon
- 100. Abishek Sharma